Global Industry Committee

From OWASP
Revision as of 11:56, 21 July 2011 by Sarah Baso (Talk | contribs)

Jump to: navigation, search

About the Committee

Mission Statement

The Global Industry Committee was created during the OWASP EU Summit in Portugal. The OWASP Global Industry Committee (GIC) shall expand awareness of and promote the inclusion of software security best practices in Industry, Government, Academia and regulatory agencies and be a voice for industry. This will be accomplished through outreach; including presentations, development of position papers and collaborative efforts with other entities. The committee is governed by the Global Industry Committee Governance document.


Committee Members


Members:

Name Email Location
Lorna Alamri lorna.alamri 'at' owasp dot org USA
Rex Booth § rex.booth 'at' gt dot com USA
Joe Bernik bernik 'at' gmail dot com USA
David Campbell dcampbell 'at' owasp dot org USA
Mauro Flores mauro.flores 'at' owasp dot org Uruguay
Alexander Fry alexander.fry 'at' owasp dot org USA
Eoin Keary eoin.keary 'at' owasp dot org Ireland
Nishi Kumar nishi.kumar@owasp.org USA
Mateo Martinez mateo.martinez 'at' owasp dot org Uruguay
Colin Watson colin.watson 'at' owasp dot org UK
Sherif Koussa sherif.koussa 'at' owasp dot org Canada
Christian Papathanasiou christian.papathanasiou 'at' owasp dot org Greece


§ The committee chair is Rex Booth. The previous chairs were:

  • Joe Bernik (Feb 2011 to July 2011)
  • Yiannis Pavlosoglou (Nov 2010 to Jan 2011)
  • Colin Watson (Nov 2009 to Oct 2010)


Former members of the committee:

  • Yiannis Pavlosoglou


Getting Involved

Mailing List

Join our mailing list - this is the best way to find out what's going on day-to-day, and to provide input.


Meetings

Currently, the Global Industry Committee holds its monthly meetings __________________ at 16:00 GMT.


The next Global Industry Committee meeting will be: Global Meeting Time Planner - Click Here

  • Date TBA at 16:00 (4:00 pm) GMT.
  • Dial in: _______
  • Meeting agenda forthcoming


Minutes of previous meetings are:


Membership

Membership explains how to become an OWASP organization supporter or individual member. But you don't have to be an OWASP Member or Committee Member to contribute.

The current committee members joined for a 12 month term - see How to Join a Committee and Global Committee Pages. We would especially welcome new members who can widen our geographic coverage (e.g. Africa, Asia and South America) and who have time to contribute proactively.


Current Activity

Work in Progress

The current activities being undertaken:

Task Deadline Type Status Description Who
Industry Outreach Sessions at OWASP AppSec EU 10 Jun 2011 Outreach In progress Conduct industry outreach sessions at AppSec EU to educate about GIC initiatives and solicit feedback RB, NK, SB
Enterprise Security Solutions Summit 7 Jun 2011 Outreach In progress Manning the OWASP booth doing outreach, membership drive, etc. DC
UK ICO Data Sharing Code of Practice 10 May 2011 Standards Complete Submitted OWASP response (12/20/2010) to last year's consultation on the draft CW
OWASP Panel at Brighttalk Appsec Summit 16 March 2011 Outreach Complete Participate in panel of OWASP leaders to discuss new web application threats and give insights on ways to secure them for business DC
FedRAMP 17 Jan 2011 Standards In progress Provide response to FedRAMP certification and accreditation process RB
Hacking Lab 14 Dec 2011 Outreach In progress Matt Tesauro has been working with Hacking Lab previously and brought it to the GIC MAT


Other ongoing initiatives


Completed Items

View the GIC's past initiatives


GIC Records

Committee Working Documents


Monthly Reports


OWASP Summits


About the GIC


Summaries

(for inclusion into other full OWASP presentations):



Join our mailing list | How to Join a Committee | Learn about other Global Committees