Category:OWASP Top Ten Project

From OWASP
(Redirected from Top Ten)
Jump to: navigation, search


[edit]

OWASP Project Header.jpg

OWASP Top 10

The OWASP Top Ten is a powerful awareness document for web application security. The OWASP Top Ten represents a broad consensus about what the most critical web application security flaws are. Project members include a variety of security experts from around the world who have shared their expertise to produce this list.

We urge all companies to adopt this awareness document within their organization and start the process of ensuring that their web applications do not contain these flaws. Adopting the OWASP Top Ten is perhaps the most effective first step towards changing the software development culture within your organization into one that produces secure code.

Translation Efforts

The OWASP Top 10 has been translated to many different languages by numerous volunteers. These translations are available as follows:

Licensing

The OWASP Top 10 is free to use. It is licensed under the http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/ Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 license], so you can copy, distribute and transmit the work, and you can adapt it, and use it commercially, but all provided that you attribute the work and if you alter, transform, or build upon this work, you may distribute the resulting work only under the same or similar license to this one.


What is the OWASP Top 10?

The OWASP Top 10 provides:

  • A list of the 10 Most Critical Web Application Security Risks

And for each Risk it provides:

  • A description
  • Example vulnerabilities
  • Example attacks
  • Guidance on how to avoid
  • References to OWASP and other related resources

Project Leader

Related Projects

Quick Download

Email List

Project Email List

News and Events

  • [12 Jun 2013] OWASP Top 10 - 2013 Final Released
  • [Feb 2013] Draft OWASP Top 10 - 2013 - Released for Public Comment

Classifications

Owasp-flagship-trans-85.png Owasp-builders-small.png
Owasp-defenders-small.png
Cc-button-y-sa-small.png
Project Type Files DOC.jpg


OWASP Project Header.jpg

On June 12, 2013 the OWASP Top 10 for 2013 was officially released. This version was updated based on numerous comments received during the comment period after the release candidate was released in Feb. 2013.


The OWASP Top 10 - 2013 is as follows:

If you are interested, the methodology for how the Top 10 is produced is now documented here: OWASP Top 10 Development Methodology

Please help us make sure every developer in the ENTIRE WORLD knows about the OWASP Top 10 by helping to spread the word!!!

As you help us spread the word, please emphasize:

  • OWASP is reaching out to developers, not just the application security community
  • The Top 10 is about managing risk, not just avoiding vulnerabilities
  • To manage these risks, organizations need an application risk management program, not just awareness training, app testing, and remediation

We need to encourage organizations to get off the penetrate and patch mentality. As Jeff Williams said in his 2009 OWASP AppSec DC Keynote: “we’ll never hack our way secure – it’s going to take a culture change” for organizations to properly address application security.

Introduction

The OWASP Top Ten provides a powerful awareness document for web application security. The OWASP Top Ten represents a broad consensus about what the most critical web application security flaws are. Project members include a variety of security experts from around the world who have shared their expertise to produce this list. Versions of the 2007 and 2010 version were translated into English, French, Spanish, Japanese, Korean and Turkish and other languages. Translation efforts for the 2013 version are underway and they will be posted as they become available.

We urge all companies to adopt this awareness document within their organization and start the process of ensuring that their web applications do not contain these flaws. Adopting the OWASP Top Ten is perhaps the most effective first step towards changing the software development culture within your organization into one that produces secure code.

Changes between 2010 and 2013 Editions

The OWASP Top 10 - 2013 includes the following changes as compared to the 2010 edition:

  • A1 Injection
  • A2 Broken Authentication and Session Management (was formerly 2010-A3)
  • A3 Cross-Site Scripting (XSS) (was formerly 2010-A2)
  • A4 Insecure Direct Object References
  • A5 Security Misconfiguration (was formerly 2010-A6)
  • A6 Sensitive Data Exposure (2010-A7 Insecure Cryptographic Storage and 2010-A9 Insufficient Transport Layer Protection were merged to form 2013-A6)
  • A7 Missing Function Level Access Control (renamed/broadened from 2010-A8 Failure to Restrict URL Access)
  • A8 Cross-Site Request Forgery (CSRF) (was formerly 2010-A5)
  • A9 Using Components with Known Vulnerabilities (new but was part of 2010-A6 – Security Misconfiguration)
  • A10 Unvalidated Redirects and Forwards

2013 Versions

2013 Edition:

Feedback

Please let us know how your organization is using the Top Ten. Include your name, organization's name, and brief description of how you use the list. Thanks for supporting OWASP!

We hope you find the information in the OWASP Top Ten useful. Please contribute back to the project by sending your comments, questions, and suggestions to topten@lists.owasp.org Thanks!

To join the OWASP Top Ten mailing list or view the archives, please visit the subscription page.

Project Sponsors

The OWASP Top Ten project is sponsored by Aspect_logo_owasp.jpg       


OWASP Project Header.jpg

On April 19, 2010 the final version of the OWASP Top 10 for 2010 was released, and here is the associated press release. This version was updated based on numerous comments received during the comment period after the release candidate was released in Nov. 2009.

The OWASP Top 10 Web Application Security Risks for 2010 are:

Introduction

The OWASP Top Ten provides a powerful awareness document for web application security. The OWASP Top Ten represents a broad consensus about what the most critical web application security flaws are. Project members include a variety of security experts from around the world who have shared their expertise to produce this list. Versions of the 2007 were translated into English, French, Spanish, Japanese, Korean and Turkish and other languages and the 2010 version was translated into even more languages. See below for all the translated versions.

2010 Versions

2010 Edition:

2010 Translations:

2010 Release Candidate:

Previous versions:

Project Sponsors

The OWASP Top Ten project is sponsored by Aspect_logo_owasp.jpg       

OWASP Project Header.jpg

Efforts are underway in numerous languages to translate the OWASP Top 10 for 2013. If you are interested in helping, please contact the other members of the team for the language you are interested in contributing to, or if you don't see your language listed, please let me know you want to help and we'll form a volunteer group for your language too!!

Here is the original source document for the OWASP Top 10 - 2013 which is in PowerPoint. Please use this document as the basis for your translation efforts.

2013 Completed Translations:

  • French 2013: OWASP Top 10 2013 - French PDF Ludovic Petit: Ludovic.Petit@owasp.org, Sébastien Gioria: Sebastien.Gioria@owasp.org, Erwan Abgrall: g4l4drim@gmail.com, Benjamin Avet: benjamin.avet@gmail.com, Jocelyn Aubert: jocelyn.aubert@owasp.org, Damien Azambour: damien.azambourg@owasp.org, Aline Barthelemy: aline.barthelemy@fr.abb.com, Moulay Abdsamad Belghiti: abdsamad.belghiti@gmail.com, Gregory Blanc: gregory.blanc@gmail.com, Clément Capel: clement.capel@sfr.com, Etienne Capgras: Etienne.capgras@solucom.fr, Julien Cayssol: julien@aqwz.com, Antonio Fontes: antonio.fontes@owasp.org, Ely de Travieso: Ely.detravieso@owasp.org, Nicolas Grégoire: nicolas.gregoire@agarri.fr, Valérie Lasserre: valerie.lasserre@gmx.fr, Antoine Laureau: antoine.laureau@owasp.org, Guillaume Lopes: lopes.guillaume@free.fr, Gilles Morain: gilles.morain@gmail.com, Christophe Pekar: christophe.pekar@owasp.org, Olivier Perret: perrets@free.fr, Michel Prunet: michel.prunet@owasp.org, Olivier Revollat: revollat@gmail.com, Aymeric Tabourin: aymeric.tabourin@orange.com
  • Brazilian Portuguese 2013: OWASP Top 10 2013 - Brazilian Portuguese (PDF) Translated by: Carlos Serrão, Marcio Machry, Ícaro Evangelista de Torres, Carlo Marcelo Revoredo da Silva, Luiz Vieira, Suely Ramalho de Mello, Jorge Olímpia, Daniel Quintão, Mauro Risonho de Paula Assumpção, Marcelo Lopes, Caio Dias, Rodrigo Gularte
  • Spanish 2013: OWASP Top 10 2013 - Spanish (PDF) Gerardo Canedo: gerardo.canedo@owasp.org, Jorge Correa: jacorream@gmail.com, Fabien Spychiger: fabien.spychiger@dreamlab.net, Alberto Hill: alberto.daniel.hill@gmail.com, Johnatan Stanley: johnatanst@gmail.com, Maximiliano Alonzo: malonzo@tib.com.uy, Mateo Martinez: mateo.martinez@owasp.org, David Montero: david.montero@owasp.org, Rodrigo Martinez: rodmart@fing.edu.uy, Guillermo Skrilec: guillermo.skrilec@owasp.org, Felipe Zipitria: felipe.zipitria@owasp.org, Fabien Spychiger: fabien.spychiger@dreamlab.net, Rafael Gil: rafael.gillarios@owasp.org, Christian Lopez: christian.lopez.martin@owasp.org, jonathan fernandez jonathan.fernandez04@gmail.com, Paola Rodriguez: Paola_R1@verifone.com, Hector Aguirre: hector.antonio.aguirre@owasp.org, Roger Carhuatocto: rcarhuatocto@intix.info, Juan Carlos Calderon: johnccr@yahoo.com, Marc Rivero López: mriverolopez@gmail.com, Carlos Allendes: carlos.allendes@owasp.org, daniel@carrero.cl: daniel@carrero.cl, Manuel Ramírez: manuel.ramirez.s@gmail.com, Marco Miranda: marco.miranda@owasp.org, Mauricio D. Papaleo Mayada: mpapaleo@gmail.com, Felipe Sanchez: felipe.sanchez@peritajesinformaticos.cl, Juan Manuel Bahamonde: juanmanuel.bahamonde@gmail.com, Adrià Massanet: adriamassanet@gmail.com, Jorge Correa: jacorream@gmail.com, Ramiro Pulgar: ramiro.pulgar@owasp.org, German Alonso Suárez Guerrero: german.suarez@owasp.org, Jose A. Guasch: jaguasch@gmail.com, Edgar Salazar: edgar.salazar@owasp.org
  • Korean 2013: OWASP Top 10 2013 - Korean PDF (이름가나다순) 김병효:byounghyo.kim@owasp.org, 김지원:jiwon.kim@owasp.or.kr, 김효근:katuri@katuri.kr, 박정훈:xelion@gmail.com, 성영모:youngmo.seong@owasp.or.kr, 성윤기:yune.sung@owasp.org, 송보영:boyoung.song@owasp.or.kr, 송창기:factor7@naver.com, 유정호:griphis77@gmail.com, 장상민:sangmin.jang@owasp.or.kr, 전영재:youngjae.jeon@owasp.org, 정가람:tgcarrot@gmail.com, 정홍순:jhs728@gmail.com, 조민재:johnny.cho@owasp.org,허성무:issimplenet@gmail.com
  • Arabic: OWASP Top 10 2013 - Arabic PDF Translated by: Mohannad Shahat: Mohannad.Shahat@owasp.org, Fahad: @SecurityArk, Abdulellah Alsaheel: cs.saheel@gmail.com, Khalifa Alshamsi: Khs1618@gmail.com and Sabri(KING SABRI): king.sabri@gmail.com, Mohammed Aldossary: mohammed.aldossary@owasp.org
  • Ukrainian 2013: OWASP Top 10 2013 - Ukrainian PDF Kateryna Ovechenko, Yuriy Fedko, Gleb Paharenko, Yevgeniya Maskayeva, Sergiy Shabashkevich, Bohdan Serednytsky

2010 Completed Translations:

Volunteer Translation Efforts Underway:

  • Portuguese: carlos.j.serrao@gmail.com; taquiles@gmail.com; wagner.elias@owasp.org; victoreufrasio@gmail.com; leo.cavallari@owasp.org; victoreufrasio@gmail.com;
  • Greek: Konstantinos Papapanagiotou (conpap@di.uoa.gr)
  • Turkish: bora@abi.com.tr
  • Malay: cecil.su@owasp.org
  • Czech: petr.zavodsky@owasp-czech-republic.cz
  • Dutch: marinus@kuivenhoven.com
  • Swedish: ake.bengtsson@owasp.org
  • Hungarian: tibor.fekete@owasp.org
  • Persian (Farsi): Shahab Namazikhah (shahab@securation.com), Sajjad Pourali (sajjad@securation.com)

OWASP Project Header.jpg
PROJECT INFO
What does this OWASP project offer you?
RELEASE(S) INFO
What does this OWASP project release offer you?
what is this project?
OWASP Top Ten Project

Purpose: The OWASP Top Ten provides a powerful awareness document for web application security. The OWASP Top Ten represents a broad consensus about what the most critical web application security flaws are.

License: Creative Commons Attribution Share Alike 3.0

who is working on this project?
Project Leader: Dave Wichers @

Project Maintainer: Dave Wichers @

Project Contributor(s):

how can you learn more?
Project Pamphlet: N/A

3x slide Project Presentation: N/A

Mailing list: Subscribe or read the archives

Project Roadmap: N/A

Main links:

Project Health: Yellow button.JPG Not Reviewed (Provisional)
To be reviewed under Assessment Criteria v2.0

Key Contacts
  • Contact Dave Wichers @ to contribute, review or sponsor this project
  • Contact the GPC to report a problem or concern about this project or to update information.
current release
OWASP Top 10 - 2013 - June 2013 - (download)

Release Leader: Wichers @

Release details: Main links, release roadmap and assessment

Rating: Greenlight.pngGreenlight.pngGreenlight.png Stable Release
To be reviewed under Assessment Criteria v2.0

last reviewed release
OWASP Top 10 - 2013 - June 2013 - (download)


Release Leader: Dave Wichers @

Release details: N/A

Rating: Greenlight.pngGreenlight.pngGreenlight.png Stable Release
To be reviewed under Assessment Criteria v2.0

other releases
  • OWASP Top 10 2010 - 2010 - (download)
  • OWASP Top 10 2007 - 2007 - (download)
  • OWASP Top 10 2004 - 2004 - (download)
  • OWASP Top 10 2003 - 2003 - (no download available)

OWASP Project Header.jpg

Warning: these articles have not been rated for accuracy by OWASP. Product companies should be extremely careful about claiming to "cover" or "ensure compliance" with the OWASP Top 10. The current state-of-the-art for automated detection (scanners and static analysis) and prevention (WAF) is nowhere near sufficient to claim adequate coverage of the issues in the Top 10. Nevertheless, using the Top 10 as a simple way to communicate security to end users is effective.

Microsoft
as a way to measure the coverage of their SDL and improve security
NSA
in their developer guidance on web application security
PCI Council
as part of the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS)
Microsoft
to show how "T10 threats are handled by the security design and test procedures of Microsoft"
OWASP
OWASP Top 10 Mapped to the Web Hacking Incident Database
OWASP
OWASP Mobile Top 10 Risks
OWASP
OWASP Top 10 Cheat Sheet

Subcategories

This category has only the following subcategory.

Pages in category "OWASP Top Ten Project"

The following 79 pages are in this category, out of 79 total.

2

A

B

C

G

I

O

T

T cont.

T cont.

U

Media in category "OWASP Top Ten Project"

The following 2 files are in this category, out of 2 total.