Global Industry Committee/Verticals

From OWASP
Jump to: navigation, search

Welcome!

The Global Industry Committee was created during the OWASP EU Summit in Portugal. The primary purpose of the Global Industry Committee is to work with industry executives to gather requirements from industry, work with Membership, Projects and others.

Mission Statement

To expand awareness of and promote the inclusion of software security best practices in Industry, Government, Academia and regulatory agencies and be a voice for industry. We will accomplish this through outreach; including presentations, development of position papers and collaborative efforts with other entities.


Committee Plan

Step 1: Identify specific organizations worth working with to spread the OWASP gospel

Step 2: Prioritize the proposed liaisons based on potential impact, and also realistic likelihood of the organization actively working with us

Step 3: Execute, leveraging global OWASP resources as much as possible to maximize impact

Step 4: Evaluate progress & repeat Step 1-3

Committee Members


Members:

Name Email Location
Lorna Alamri lorna.alamri 'at' owasp dot org USA
Joe Bernik § bernik 'at' gmail dot com USA
Rex Booth rex.booth 'at' gt dot com USA
David Campbell dcampbell 'at' owasp dot org USA
Alexander Fry alexander.fry 'at' owasp dot org USA
Georg Hess georg.hess 'at' artofdefence dot com Germany
Colin Watson colin.watson 'at' owasp dot org UK
Mauro Flores mauro.flores 'at' owasp dot org Uruguay
Mateo Martinez mateo.martinez 'at' owasp dot org Uruguay


§ The committee chair is Joe Bernik. The previous chairs were:

  • Yiannis Pavlosoglou (Nov 2010 to Jan 2011)
  • Colin Watson (Nov 2009 to Oct 2010)


Board Member Representative:

Name Email Location
Eoin Keary eoin.keary 'at' owasp dot org Ireland


Operational Support:

Name Email Location
Sarah Baso sarah.baso 'at' owasp dot org USA

Former members of the committee:

  • Yiannis Pavlosoglou


Presentations and Reports

Current:

Find older presentations in the Global Industry Committee Archives.


Committee Membership & Meetings

Mailing List

Join our mailing list - this is the best way to find out what's going on day-to-day, and to provide input.


Meetings

The next Global Industry Committee meeting will be:

  • Friday, March 18 at 5pm / 17:00 hrs GMT
    • +1 877 534 8500 or International +1 513 534 8500
    • Passcode 410105 #
    • Agenda forthcoming

Minutes of previous meetings are:


Membership

Membership explains how to become an OWASP organization supporter or individual member. But you don't have to be an OWASP Member or Committee Member to contribute.

The current committee members joined for a 12 month term - see How to Join a Committee and Global Committee Pages. We would especially welcome new members who can widen our geographic coverage (e.g. Africa, Asia and South America) and who have time to contribute proactively.


Current Initiatives

Work in Progress

The current activities being undertaken:

Task Deadline Type Status Description Who
Scholarship for AppSecUSA Attendance of women On-going Outreach New Raise funds and create model for funds disbursement LA/YP
National Board of Information Security Examiners Ongoing Outreach New Invite and coordinate OWASP contributions to NBISE YP/LA
OWASP Top 10 Presentation 2/18/11 or 2/25/11 Outreach New OWASP Presentation Royal Holloway, University of London presentation YP
New IETF Web Security working group / W3C Web Application Security Working Group Ongoing All Members New Invite and coordinate OWASP contributions on this IETF/W3C Group YP
FedRAMP 17 Jan 2011 Standards In progress Provide response to FedRAMP certification and accreditation process RB
Hacking Lab 14 Dec 2011 Outreach In progress Matt Tesauro has been working with Hacking Lab previously and brought it to the GIC MAT/YP
Leeds Chapter Leader Presentation 13 Dec 2011 Outreach In progress LA is gathering OWASP overview and project information for OWASP Leeds presentation needs. LA
Reconnecting with past Industry Committee connections 1 Feb 2011 Follow up In progress YP and LA to follow up with Industry Committee past contacts. YP/LA


Other ongoing initiatives


Completed Items

All of our past initiatives and accomplishments can be found here.


Financial Services

  • Banking,
  • Insurance,
  • Investment


Government & Public Sector

Health

  • Health care,
  • Hospitals,
  • Ambulances, and
  • Pharmaceuticals

Media & Telecommunications

Power, Energy, Utilities, & Natural Resources

  • Electricity generation,
  • Gas and oil production and distribution,
  • Water supply
  • Mining
  • Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing, & Hunting

Professional Firms, Software, & Services

Goods & Trade

Wholesale & Retail


Transportation systems

  • fuel supply,
  • railway network,
  • airports,
  • harbours,
  • inland shipping



Global Committees
GIC Internals
GIC Archives