Global Industry Advisory Board

From OWASP
Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Draft - Mission Statement

Global Industry Advisory Board (GIAB)

The Global Industry Advisory Board was created in March 2013 as the successor to the Global Industry Committee. It's goals are to expand awareness of and promote the inclusion of software security best practices in Industry, Government, Academia and regulatory agencies and be a voice for industry. This will be accomplished through outreach; including presentations, development of position papers and collaborative efforts with other entities. The board is governed by the Global Industry Advisory Board Governance document.

Its activities are: - advocating industry interests and building relationship with industry and eventually improving our corporate membership and influence. - initiating new industry related projects and building synergy between these industry related projects and promoting them (e.g. Industry links, CISO guide, CISO Survey, etc.).


Members List

To be filled until Mar-31.


Members - Draft List (I pre-entered the most active members of the GIC over the last 4 months):

Name Email Location
Tobias Gondrom tobias.gondrom 'at' owasp dot org HK, UK and DE
Mauro Flores mauro.flores 'at' owasp dot org Uruguay
Alexander Fry alexander.fry 'at' owasp dot org USA
Eoin Keary eoin.keary 'at' owasp dot org Dublin, Ireland
Colin Watson colin.watson 'at' owasp dot org UK
Marco Morana marco.m.morana 'at' citi dot com Italy
Christian Papathanasiou christian.papathanasiou 'at' owasp dot org Greece


And you can find the list of nominated candidates for the GIAB here GIAB nominated candidates.

Chair

Until the board has been fully assembled and taken a formal on vote on its chair, the acting chair of the board is Tobias Gondrom.


Mailing List

Join our mailing list - this is the best way to find out what's going on day-to-day, and to provide input. The mailing-list is open for everyone.


Meetings

Most of the activities of the GIAB are conducted in virtual meetings and via email on the mailing-list. The Global Industry Advisory Board schedules conference call meetings of about an hour approximately every 4 weeks.


The next Global Industry Advisory Board meeting will be: March-29, 2013, 17:00 GMT

Global Meeting Time Planner - Click Here

Meeting agenda

  • CISO Guide
  • CISO Survey
  • Industry Table at AppSec US
  • industry bodies contacts?
  • ...?


Minutes of previous meetings are:

Membership

Membership explains how to become an OWASP organization supporter or individual member. But you don't have to be an OWASP Member or Committee Member to contribute.

The current GIAB members joined for a 12 month term - see Global Industry Advisory Board Governance. We would especially welcome new members who can widen our covered industry areas and geographic coverage (e.g. Africa, Asia and South America) and who have time to contribute proactively.

You can nominate yourself or a colleague for the GIAB here:


Current Activity

Work in Progress

The current activities being undertaken:

Task Deadline Type Status Description Who
Nominet Consultation Jan 2013 Standards New Submit response to proposed security aspects of Nominet's consultation on a new .uk domain name service CW
ENISA Who-Is-Who Directory Sep 2012 Outreach New Request update to ENISA Who-Is-Who directory (2011 version) for OWASP and OWASP UK; promote other EU chapters to submit information CW
AppSec Guide For CISO June 2013 Outreach In progress, draft 75% completed Guide to help CISOs (Chief Information Security Officers) to manage application security programs MM
CISO Survey 2013 on Application Security - Draft April 2013 Outreach In progress TG
Industry Outreach Sessions at OWASP AppSec Conferences ongoing - discuss whether to continue Outreach Ongoing Conduct industry outreach sessions at AppSec US to educate about OWASP initiatives and solicit feedback TG


Other ongoing initiatives

Completed Items

GIC Records

Committee Working Documents

Monthly Reports

OWASP Summits and Working Sessions

About the GIAB


Summaries